Sault Ste. Marie (pronounced Soo), founded in 1668, is the second-oldest city in Michigan. The site of the University was originally Fort Brady, which moved to "the hill" in 1893. In 1946, the fort was deactivated and the facilities became home to the Sault Ste. Marie branch of the Michigan College of Mining and Technology (now Michigan Technological University). The Michigan Legislature granted "Sault Tech" autonomy in 1966, creating Lake Superior State College. In 1987, the Legislature changed the name to Lake Superior State University.
As a comprehensive university, LSSU offers more than 60 majors and minors, including programs ranging from one-year certificates to associate and bachelor degrees. A faculty dedicated to teaching and an environment rich in undergraduate research opportunities make our University a truly great place to live and learn.
The many state-of-the-art learning facilities on campus contribute to the academic excellence of LSSU. Among the newest or most-recently renovated facilities on campus are the Crawford Hall of Science, equipped with modern biology, chemistry, geology and physics labs along with a planetarium and greenhouse; the Kenneth J. Shouldice Library, the Robert Arbuckle Student Activity Center, Cooper Gymnasium and Fine Arts Center.
Other outstanding facilities house academic computing centers with an excellent student-to-computer ratio, a fish hatchery and aquatic research laboratory, and criminal justice and fire science classrooms.
The Center for Applied Science and Engineering Technology houses programs for electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, manufacturing engineering technology, mathematics and computer science.
The local figure skating club also uses the facility. Other events occur when the ice is not on such as the commencement ceremonies for the University as well as local events and fundraisers such as the annual Chippewa County Spring Show which showcases local businesses.