WCHA Governance Structure

Governance for the WCHA Men’s League is led by its Board of Directors, with additional input from the Advisory Council and Management Council, along with additional committees as necessary.

Board of Directors

The WCHA Men’s League Board of Directors is comprised of each Member institution’s President/Chancellor or their designee. The Board, which is led by a Chair serving a two-year term, has oversight over all League operations, with primary responsibility for finances and budget, membership and commissioner staffing. On voting items, each Member institution receives one vote. In 2018-19, the Board consists of:

  • Chair: Dr. Fritz J. Erickson, President, Northern Michigan University
  • Dr. Robert A. Altenkirch, President, University of Alabama in Huntsville
  • Dr. Samuel Gingerich, Interim Chancellor, University of Alaska Anchorage
  • Dr. Daniel M. White, Chancellor, University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • Dr. Faith Hensrud, President, Bemidji State University
  • Dr. Rodney K. Rogers, President, Bowling Green State University
  • Dr. David L. Eisler, President, Ferris State University
  • Dr. Rodney S. Hanley, President, Lake Superior State University
  • Dr. Richard J. Koubek, President, Michigan Technological University
  • Dr. Richard Davenport, President, Minnesota State University, Mankato

Advisory Council

The WCHA Men’s League Advisory Council is responsible for general counsel to the Commissioner and WCHA Office, along with providing oversight of the League’s day-to-day operations. Its members serve on two-year terms. In 2018-19, the Advisory Council consists of:

  • Dr. Fritz Erickson, President, Northern Michigan University (Board Chair)
  • Dr. Kim Hancock, Faculty Athletics Representative, Ferris State University (FAR Chair)
  • Bob Moosbrugger, Athletic Director, Bowling Green State University (AD Chair)
  • Tom Serratore, Head Coach, Bemidji State (Coaches’ Chair)

Management Council

The WCHA Men’s League Management Council consists of three representatives from each Member institution: The Director of Athletics (or Athletics Administrator), the Faculty Athletics Representative and the Head Coach. The Management Council shall enact League Policies and Procedures, including scheduling, game management and WCHA Postseason Tournament items, while also serving as a recommending body to the Board of Directors regarding League financials and budget, membership and officer employment. On voting items, each Member institution receives one vote. In 2018-19, the Management Council consists of:

  • University of Alabama in Huntsville – Dr. E.J. Brophy (AD), Dr. Brent Wren (FAR), Mike Corbett (HC)
  • University of Alaska Anchorage – Greg Myford (AD), Dr. Debbie Narang (FAR), Matt Curley (HC)
  • University of Alaska Fairbanks – Sterling Steward (AD), Dr. David Barnes (FAR), Erik Largen (HC)
  • Bemidji State University – Tracy Dill (AD), Dr. Shannon Norman (FAR), Tom Serratore (HC)
  • Bowling Green State University – Bob Moosbrugger (AD), Dr. Ray Schneider (FAR), Chris Bergeron (HC)
  • Ferris State University – Perk Weisenburger (AD), Dr. Kim Hancock (FAR), Bob Daniels (HC)
  • Lake Superior State University – Dr. David Paitson (AD), Dr. Brian Snyder (FAR), Damon Whitten (HC)
  • Michigan Technological University – Dr. Suzanne Sanregret (AD), Dr. William Sproule (FAR), Joe Shawhan (HC)
  • Minnesota State University – Kevin Buisman (AD), Dr. Jeffrey Pribyl (FAR), Mike Hastings (AD)
  • Northern Michigan University – Forrest Karr (AD), Dr. Julie Rochester (FAR), Grant Potulny (HC)