Minnesota

Minnesota Quick Facts

Location: Minneapolis, Minn.
Year Founded: 1851
Enrollment: 51,147
Nickname: Golden Gophers
Colors: Maroon and Gold
President: Eric W. Kaler
Director of Athletics (Interim): Beth Goetz
Faculty Athletic Representative: Perry Leo, Emily Hoover
Athletic Dept. Phone: 612-624-4497


Team History

First Year of Division I Hockey: 1997-98
All-time Record (Years): 536-108-43


Facility Information

Name (Capacity): Ridder Arena (3,400)
Dimensions: 200'x85'
Ticket Office Phone: 1-800-U-GOPHER or 612-624-8080
Address: 1901 4th St. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455


Coaches/Support Staff

Head Coach: Brad Frost (Bethel, '96)
     • Record at UMN: 319-53-27 (10 seasons)
     • Career record: Same

Associate Head Coach
     • Joel Johnson (Bethel, '96)

Assistant Coach
     • Bethany Brausen (Minnesota, '14)

Support Staff
     • Andy Kent, Volunteer Goalie Coach
     • Greg Adrian, Director of Operations
     • Brent Proulx, Equipment Manager


Athletics Communications

Hockey Contact: Mandy Hansen
Office Phone: 612-626-9394
Email: hans1758@umn.edu
Press Box Phone: 612-625-6900
Website: GopherSports.com
Hockey-specific Twitter: @GopherWHockey
Hockey-specific Facebook: facebook.com/GopherWomensHockey
Hockey-specific Instagram: GopherWHockey
Athletics Twitter: @GopherSports
Athletics Facebook: facebook.com/GopherAthletics
Athletics Instagram: GopherSports


Media Directory

Print/Web
Minneapolis Star Tribune (Jason Gonzalez, jason.gonzalez@startribune.com, 612-741-6844). St. Paul Pioneer Press (Andy Greder, agreder@pioneerpress.com, 763-234-1513). Associated Press (Dave Campbell, dcampbell@ap.org, 612 332-2727). Minnesota Daily (UM campus, Ben Gotz, bgotz@umn.edu, 612 627-4080). Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder (Charles Hallman, charleshallman@yahoo.com, 612-827-4021). Minnesota Suburban Sun & Sun Press Newspapers (Peggy Bakken, peggy.bakken@ecm-inc.com, 763-424-7373). Let's Play Hockey (Kevin Kurtt, 612 729-0023, editor@letsplayhockey.com).

Radio
gophersports.com (UM web audiocast) (Dan Hamann, dhamann@isd2144.org, 612-590-6201). KFAN-FM 100.3 (952-417-3000). KSTP-AM 1500 (651-647-1500). WCCO-AM 830 (612-370-0611). KUOM (UM campus) (612 625-3500). Minnesota News Network (Mike Grimm, mgrimm@mnnradio.com, 612-321-7211).

Television
Outlet, Name of Primary Reporter Covering Hockey, Email, Phone Number Fox Sports North (Coordinating Producer, Trevor Fleck, trevor.fleck@foxsports.net, 612-486-9541). KARE/NBC (Lead Sports Producer, TBD, 763-546-1111). KMSP/Fox (Sports Director, Jim Rich, jim.rich@foxtv.com, 952-944-9999). KSTP/ABC (Sports Director, Joe Schmit, jschmit@kstp.com, 651-642-4463). WCCO/CBS (Sports Director, Mark Rosen, marosen@wcco.cbs.com, 612-330-2539).

BROADCAST INFORMATION

Radio Broadcast Information
gophersports.com (UM web audiocast, Dan Hamann)