Jordan Slavin and Sara Dagenais each register goal and assist for Fighting Sioux

Jordan Slavin had the game-winner and an assist for UND

The No. 3/4 University of Minnesota women's hockey team suffered its first loss of the season in a 4-3 loss to No. 7/8 North Dakota, tonight, at Ridder Arena. With the loss, the Golden Gophers are now 3-1-0 on the season and start the Western Collegiate Hockey Association season at 0-1-0.

Becky Kortum opened the Gopher scoring drive when she scored at 1:20 in the first. Kortum picked up the loose puck and fired a shot from the bottom of the left circle and placed it far side. However, UND's Margot Miller scored at 2:01 to quickly tie the game at 1-1.

With the first UND goal of the season, it broke Minnesota's time of holding its opponents scoreless, dating back to the 2010 NCAA Frozen Four. Prior to the Miller goal, Minnesota had not allowed a goal for 202:46 minutes played. It was also the first goal allowed this season, marking the time at 182:01.

Jen Schoullis scored on a backdoor attempt from Amanda Kessel at 7:57 to put the game at 2-1 in favor of the Gophers. However, Monique Lamoureux-Kolls responded with a five-on-three goal at 16:03 to knot the game after one period of play.

Kelly Terry scored her first goal as a Golden Gopher when she lit the lamp at 9:40 in the second period. She and Sarah Davis created a two-on-one attempt. Terry fired a wrist shot past UND's Jorid Dagfinrud to put the game at 3-2. For the third time, UND tied the game when Sara Dagenais scored at 13:41 in the second to knot the game at 3-3.

UND's Jordan Slavin scored what would be the game-winning goal just 32 seconds into the third period. Although the refs reviewed the goal, it stood as UND earned its first win over the Gophers in their 29th attempt. Minnesota tried a last ditch effort to tie the game, pulling goalie Alyssa Grogan with 1:13 remaining in the game. However, the Gophers weren't able to find the net in the last seconds.

Following the final horn, a maylay broke out and 70 minutes of penalties were issued. Kelly Seeler and Wiebe had a five-minute majors for slashing. Sarah Erickson, Schoullis, Dagenais and Ashley Holmes were all called for hitting after the whistle and game misconducts.

Minnesota will look for the split tomorrow at 4:07 p.m.