Junior Kristine Grenier scored the game-tying goal for the Beavers

ST. CLOUD, Minn. - St. Cloud State women's hockey kicked off their final regular season series Friday night in the comforts of the Herb Brooks National Hockey Center as they hosted the Bemidji State Beavers. The Huskies and Beavers skated to a 1-1 tie in overtime, while Bemidji took the 1-0 shootout win.

Coming out in the first period to take an early 1-0 lead was the Huskies at the 3:27 mark of the period on a goal by senior Julia Gilbert just out in front of the net. Assisting Gilbert on the goal was junior Audrey Hanmer and senior Michelle Burke.

The Huskies would hold on to a 1-0 lead going into the first intermission and led Bemidji State in shots on goal 14-to-9.

Bemidji State came back in the second period though tying the game up 1-1 at the 3:33 mark as Kristine Grenier found the back of the net. Alex Ehlert and Tess Dusik were credited with the assists on the goal. A late goal in the second would have given Bemidji State their first lead of the game but was called off to keep a 1-1 game going into the third period.

With the Huskies and Beavers still tied up 1-1 after regulation and through an overtime period, the game went down as a tie in the books. In the shootout, it was Bemidji State coming away with it as they scored in the first round for a 1-0 win.

Earning her 22nd start of the season and goalie of record for St. Cloud was junior Julie Friend recording an impressive 39 saves, while BSU's Brittni Mowat tallied 30 saves. With the tie, Friend moves her record to 3-15-4 on the season. Bemidji State ended the game outshooting the Huskies by a final margin of 40-to-31.

St. Cloud State (4-24-5, 3-20-4-2 WCHA) and Bemidji State (10-19-4, 7-17-3-2 WCHA) will be back in action on Saturday afternoon for the final game of the regular season. Game time is slated for 3:07 p.m. from Brooks Center.

Saturday's game has been designated as Senior Day where the Huskies will recognize the hard work and dedication of their 2014 senior class. This year's seven seniors include Sydney Burghardt, Michelle Burke, Cari Coen, Julia Gilbert, Amanda Monkman, Molli Mott and Amy Olson.