The home of a record 18 national championships, the WCHA now has the league postseason hardware to match its standing as the country’s premier women’s college hockey conference, thanks to the generosity and support of John Buccigross, the longtime ESPN anchor and renowned benefactor of hockey at all levels.

Through his #bucciovertimechallenge and #cawlidgehawkey initiative, Buccigross provided the funds for a custom-designed, perpetual WCHA Final Faceoff Championship Trophy, which debuted in 2018 and will be awarded annually to the winner of the League’s postseason tournament. In addition to the perpetual trophy, which the winning team will keep on campus for one year, Buccigross’ donation will cover several years’ worth of replica trophies for the winning team to proudly display.

"I love helping all levels of hockey, from Learn to Skate programs and other USA Hockey initiatives to NHL player foundations," said Buccigross. "It will give me a feeling of gratitude every time I see a jubilant player lift the WCHA Final Faceoff championship trophy in the coming years."

About the Trophy

Produced by Winners Award Group, the WCHA Final Faceoff Championship Trophy stands two-and-a-half feet high and is made of thick brushed aluminum, with a multi-tiered satin black wood base that accommodates the acid-etched winning university name on the base plates.