WCHA Governance Structure

Governance for the WCHA Women’s League is led by its Board of Directors, with additional input from the Advisory Council and Management Council, along with additional committees as necessary.

2019-20 WCHA Board of Directors

The WCHA Women’s League Board of Directors is comprised of each Member institution’s President/Chancellor or their designee. The Board, which is led by a Chair serving a two-year term, has has oversight over all League operations, with primary responsibility for finances and budget, membership and commissioner staffing. On voting items, each Member institution receives one vote. In 2018-19, the Board consists of:

  • Chair: Dr. Perry Leo, Faculty Athletics Representative, Minnesota
  • Tracy Dill, Director of Athletics, Bemidji State
  • Dr. Lendley Black, Chancellor/Josh Berlo, Director of Athletics, Minnesota Duluth
  • Kevin Buisman, Director of Athletics, Minnesota State
  • Dr. John Davidson, Faculty Athletics Representative, Ohio State
  • Dr. Ellyn Bartges, Equity & Access Officer and Title IX Compliance Coordinator, St. Cloud State
  • Jason King, Senior Associate Athletic Director, Wisconsin

2019-20 WCHA Advisory Council

The WCHA Women’s League Advisory Council is responsible for general counsel to the Commissioner and WCHA Office, along with providing oversight of the League’s day-to-day operations. Its members serve on two-year terms. In 2018-19, the Advisory Council consists of:

  • Dr. Perry Leo, Faculty Athletics Representative, Minnesota (Board Chair)
  • Dr. Shannon Norman, Faculty Athletics Representative, Bemidji State (FAR Chair)
  • Diana Sabau, Deputy Director of Athletics, Ohio State (AD Chair)
  • Maura Crowell, Head Coach, Minnesota Duluth (Coaches' Chair)

2019-20 WCHA Management Council

The WCHA Women’s League Management Council consists of three representatives from each Member institution: The Director of Athletics (or Athletics Administrator), the Faculty Athletics Representative and the Head Coach. The Management Council shall enact League Policies and Procedures, including scheduling, game management and WCHA Postseason Tournament items, while also serving as a recommending body to the Board of Directors regarding League financials and budget, membership and officer employment. On voting items, each Member institution receives one vote. In 2018-19, the Management Council consists of (listed in order of AD, FAR, HC):

  • BSU: Tracy Dill, Dr. Shannon Norman, Jim Scanlan
  • UMN: Tom McGinnis, Dr. Perry Leo, Brad Frost
  • UMD: Josh Berlo, Dr. Steve Castleberry, Maura Crowell
  • MSU: Kevin Buisman, Dr. Jeffrey Pribyl, John Harrington
  • OSU: Diana Sabau, Dr. John Davidson, Nadine Muzerall
  • SCSU: Heather Weems, Dr. Bill Hudson, Steve Macdonald
  • UW: Jason King, Ken Mayer, Mark Johnson