WCHA Press Releases

Minnesota State's Dryden McKay Earns CCM/AHCA All-America Honors
Junior goaltender receives West second team nod

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – April 9, 2021 – Minnesota State junior goaltender Dryden McKay has been named to the CCM/AHCA All-America Team, the American Hockey Coaches Association announced Friday.

McKay was named to the West second team and is the lone WCHA player on this year's list. The honor is the second of the Downers Grove Ill., native's career after earning first-team accolades last season. With his selection, the WCHA has now had 408 players chosen as All-Americans in the 69-year history of the league.

McKay recorded his 24th career shutout in the West Regional final on March 28, blanking top-seeded Minnesota, 4-0, to clinch Minnesota State's first Frozen Four berth.

The shutout extended his WCHA record and moved McKay within two of the NCAA-record 26 blankings recorded by Michigan State's Ryan Miller from 1999-2002. McKay's 10 shutouts in 26 contests this season lead the NCAA and equal his WCHA single season record set last season in 37 appearances.

The WCHA Player of the Year in 2020-21, McKay received his second-straight WCHA Goaltender of the Year Award this season and was the only active player named to the WCHA's 2010s All-Decade Team in March. He also captured a third consecutive WCHA Goaltending Championship with a WCHA-record 1.07 goals-against average in league play.

The GAA record marks the third time in as many seasons that McKay has lowered the WCHA GAA mark in league games. He joins former NHL star and Michigan Tech three-time All-American Tony Esposito (1964-65, 1965-66, 1966-67) as just the second netminder to win three-straight WCHA goaltending crowns.

McKay finished the season with an equally impressive 1.54 GAA in all games that ranks second in the NCAA. He also tops the country in shutouts (10) and winning percentage (.840), ranks second in victories (21-4-0) and 15th in save percentage (.924).

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Men's League

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, is marking its 69th season of men's competition in 2020-21. The 10-team NCAA Division I conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats). For more information, visit wcha.com.