WCHA Press Releases

Minnesota State's Mike Hastings Wins 2021 Spencer Penrose Award
Mavericks head coach wins second career AHCA national coach of the year honor

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – April 6, 2021 – Minnesota State head coach Mike Hastings has been named the winner of the 2021 Spencer Penrose Award, the American Hockey Coaches Association announced Tuesday.

The Spencer Penrose Award is presented annually to the CCM/AHCA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year.

The 2015 Penrose winner, Hastings has led the Mavericks to an unprecedented fourth consecutive MacNaughton Cup championship and the school's first NCAA Frozen Four appearance this season. Minnesota State rolled to the WCHA regular season title with a 13-1-0 mark in league play and will open the Frozen Four against St. Cloud State on Thursday with a 22-4-1 overall record.

"Congratulations to Mike Hastings on his second Spencer Penrose Award", WCHA Commissioner Bill Robertson said. "He's done a tremendous job with the Mavericks in a season unlike any other this year and is truly deserving of this great honor. I want wish Coach Hastings and Minnesota State the very best this week in the Frozen Four as they play for their first Division I national championship."

Minnesota State is the first school in WCHA history to win four consecutive regular season crowns and one of just two to win three outright titles in a row. Under the Crookston, Minn., native's tutelage, the Mavericks have posted a 236-89-24 (.711) mark during his nine seasons behind the bench in Mankato, the top record in college hockey during that span.

MSU has captured six WCHA regular-season titles, three league postseason championships and posted nine 20-win seasons during his tenure. Hastings earned his fourth WCHA Coach of the Year award earlier this season. He was previously honored in 2012-13, 2014-15 and 2018-19.

Hastings, who was voted the WCHA Coach of the Decade for the 2010s in March, joins Michigan Tech's John MacInnes (1970, 1976) and North Dakota's Dean Blais (1997, 2001) as the third coach in WCHA history to win two Spencer Penrose Awards as a league coach. The honor also marks the 19th time a WCHA coach has earned national coach of the year honors from the AHCA.

AHCA Spencer Penrose Award Winners
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson
1957 Jack Riley, Army
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College
1960 Jack Riley, Army
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson
1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern
1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard
1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth
1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
2011 Nate Leaman, Union
2012 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
2013 Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell
2014 Rick Bennett, Union
2015 Mike Hastings, Minnesota State
2016 Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac
2017 Jim Montgomery, Denver
2018 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
2019 Greg Carvel, Massachusetts
2020 Brad Berry, North Dakota
Mike Schafer, Cornell
2021 Mike Hastings, Minnesota State

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Men's League

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, is marking its 69th season of men's competition in 2020-21. The 10-team NCAA Division I conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats). For more information, visit wcha.com.