WCHA Press Releases

Opening half of the season will begin Nov. 20 and run through Dec. 19
WCHA Women's League Announces First Half 2020-21 Schedule
Opening half of the season will begin Nov. 20 and run through Dec. 19

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Nov. 6, 2020 – The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association will drop the puck on the 2020-21 schedule the weekend of Nov. 20-22, the league office announced Friday.

WCHA schools will play eight league games from November 20 to December 19 before breaking for the holidays. League play will resume as early as Jan. 1. The post-holiday schedule will be released in the coming weeks.

"We look forward to dropping the puck on our season later this month," WCHA Women's League Commissioner Jennifer Flowers said. "One of our primary goals throughout our return to competition discussions has been to provide our student-athletes the opportunity to compete safely in a meaningful season. We are pleased to have determined a path that allows that to happen. We continue to navigate the ever-changing landscape and remain committed to playing as complete a schedule as possible."

WCHA officials and member institution administrators are finalizing Return to Competition protocols that will be implemented upon approval. The protocols, along with state, local and university safety guidelines, will be in force at all WCHA arenas throughout the 2020-21 season.

"I want to commend our administrators, coaches and league staff for the work they've put in to building our Return to Competition plan," Flowers added. "We've engaged in several months of in-depth discussions as we worked through the challenges presented by the pandemic to craft a plan that addresses the health and safety of all."

Schedule Links

      Composite (PDF)
      Composite (Web Page)
      Bemidji State
      Minnesota Duluth
      Minnesota State
      Ohio State
      St. Cloud State

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association will mark its 22nd season in 2020-21. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 105 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), The Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). The WCHA will grow to eight members with the addition of the University of St. Thomas (Tommies) beginning with the 2021-22 season. For more information, visit wcha.com.