WCHA Press Releases

WCHA Week Fifteen Notes: 2021 Final Faceoff Has Arrived
The top-four teams meet at Ridder Arena to determine the league postseason tournament champion

Updates Around The League

- Wisconsin Takes the Julianne Bye Cup: The Badgers earned their second-straight WCHA regular-season championship with a 4-3 overtime victory over Minnesota Duluth on Saturday. The extra-time victory was enough to clinch the Julianne Bye Cup and earn the Badgers the No. 1 seed heading into this weekend's 2021 WCHA Final Faceoff.

- Goalie of the Year Finalists: Three WCHA netminders have been selected as finalists for the inaugural Goalie of the Year Award. Wisconsin senior Kennedy Blair, Ohio State junior Andrea Braendli and Minnesota Duluth junior Emma Söderberg represent the league among the other top-eight finalists.

- WCHA in the Top 10: Four WCHA teams landed in the top five of the latest USCHO and USA Today/USA Hockey Magazine polls. Wisconsin remains in the No. 1 spot in the USA Today/USA Hockey Magazine poll and drops to No. 2 in the USCHO rankings after dropping four out of six points to UMD to close out the regular season. Ohio State continues at No. 3 in both polls while Minnesota retains the No. 4 spot on both lists. Minnesota Duluth is the league's final team in the Top 10, rising to No. 5 on both rankings after defeating Wisconsin and nearly claiming the Julianne Bye Cup this past weekend.

- Leading the Nation: WCHA skaters continue to stand on the NCAA leaderboards in week thirteen. The league is currently home to the players with the most or tied for the most goals (16-Grace Zumwinkle, Minnesota), shorthanded goals (two-Anna Klein, Minnesota Duluth) and shots on goal (103-Zumwinkle, Minnesota). A WCHA team also sits at the top of the leaderboard for most blocked shots (372-Bemidji State).

- WCHA Announces 2020-21 All-Academic Team: 115 student athletes earned WCHA All-Academic Team honors for the 2020-21 season, surpassing last year's total by three. To qualify for the WCHA All-Academic Team, student-athletes must have completed one year of eligibility at their present institution prior to the current academic year and have a GPA of at least 3.0 for the previous two semesters or three quarters.

By the Numbers

- 372: Blocked shots by Bemidji State's in 2020-21. The Beavers close out their season with an NCAA-leading total and two of their blueliners (Mak Langei, Tina Kampa) in the top-10 individually for shot blocking.

- 99: Career victories for Minnesota Duluth's Maura Crowell in her time behind the bench for the Bulldogs. She can reach the century mark if Minnesota Duluth earns a spot in the 2021 Final Faceoff championship game.

- 19: Student-athletes who earned All-WCHA Team honors in 2020-21. Wisconsin saw seven Badgers honored, Ohio State boasts five Buckeyes on the All-WCHA teams, Minnesota Duluth had four Bulldogs recognized and Minnesota rounded out the teams with three Gophers.

- 6: WCHA All-Rookie Team honorees that combined for 57 points on the season. All-Rookie Team members include student-athletes from Minnesota, State (F-Jamie Nelson), Minnesota (F-Abbey Murphy, D-Josey Dunne), Ohio State (F-Jenna Buglioni, D-Riley Brengman) and St. Cloud State (G-Sanni Ahola).

- 4: Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award 2020-21 Top-10 Finalists call the WCHA home. Minnesota's Grace Zumwinkle, Ohio State's Emma Maltais and Wisconsin's Daryl Watts and Sophie Shirley are all on the exclusive list of finalists for the prestigious award.

Up Next in the WCHA

- No. 1 Wisconsin vs No. 4 Minnesota: The Badgers and Gophers return for another Border Battle in the first semifinal game of the 2021 Final Faceoff. The regular-season champions aim to win their ninth WCHA postseason championship while the Gophers look to emerge victorious on their home ice at Ridder Arena.

- No. 3 Ohio State vs No. 2 Minnesota Duluth: The Buckeyes and Bulldogs meet for the third time this season in the second semifinal match up of the 2021 Final Faceoff. Ohio State looks to defend its 2020 title while Minnesota Duluth looks to be crowned the postseason-tournament champions for the first time since 2010.