Julianne Bye Cup

The home of a record 18 national championships, the Western Collegiate Hockey Association presented a new regular season championship trophy named in honor of longtime women's hockey advocate Julianne Bye for the first time in 2018-19.

"For 20 years I have watched the highly skilled and competitive teams of the WCHA Women's Hockey League," Bye said at the time of the trophy's announcement. "In my opinion, the WCHA is the premier women's college hockey league. Winning the regular season championship should be celebrated with joy and pride. The perpetual trophy recognizes this amazing accomplishment."

The Julianne Bye Story

Julianne Bye's love for the game of hockey began as a child watching the 1960 Winter Olympics and she has been a strong advocate for the women's game ever since.

She was instrumental in the launch of the women's hockey program at the University of Minnesota and has been one of the WCHA's biggest boosters since the Women's League was founded in 1999.

The Julianne Bye Cup is a custom-made perpetual traveling trophy that will be presented to the winner of the WCHA regular season championship each year. The trophy travels from champion to champion at the conclusion of each regular season.

The Cup rests on a three-tier base that includes the trophy name and the Julianne Bye story on the first tier and engraved plates with each championship school's name. In addition to featuring the names of every team to win the WCHA regular season title, the Julianne Bye Cup contains the following inscription on its base:

The Julianne Bye Cup

It is my true honor to present the perpetual trophy for the WCHA Women's League Regular Season Champion. The WCHA stands as the nation's premier women's college hockey conference, proudly showcasing the talents of incredible female student-athletes. WCHA teams have been a force in the women's hockey community since the league's inception and I marvel at the growth in skill, talent and high standard of hockey that is played every day. This trophy celebrates and recognizes these outstanding accomplishments.

As a lifelong lover of the game of hockey, it is important to me that future teams, coaches and staff recognize that women are supporting women to grow the game we all love. My message to the regular season champions, "Raise this trophy with pride and joy. Congratulations on your hard work and drive. You are WCHA Regular Season Champions!"

Julianne Bye

Minnesota's 2018-19 WCHA Regular Season Championship team was the first to WCHA squad to be presented with the Julianne Bye Cup.

All-Time WCHA Women’s League Regular Season Champions
Year Champion W-L-T Points Head Coach
1999-00 Minnesota Duluth 21-1-2 44 Shannon Miller
2000-01 Minnesota 18-4-2 38 Laura Halldorson
2001-02 Minnesota 19-2-3 41 Laura Halldorson
2002-03 Minnesota Duluth 21-2-1 43 Shannon Miller
2003-04 Minnesota 19-3-2 40 Laura Halldorson
2004-05 Minnesota 25-1-2 52 Laura Halldorson
2005-06 Wisconsin 24-3-1 49 Mark Johnson
2006-07 Wisconsin 23-1-4 50 Mark Johnson
2007-08 Minnesota Duluth* 24-4-0 48 Shannon Miller
Year Champion W-L-T-SW^ Points Head Coach
2008-09 Minnesota 23-2-3-2 51 Brad Frost
2009-10 Minnesota Duluth 20-6-2-1 43 Shannon Miller
  Minnesota 18-6-4-3 43 Brad Frost
Year+ Champion W-L-T-SW+ Points Head Coach
2010-11 Wisconsin 24-2-2-2 76 Mark Johnson
2011-12 Wisconsin 23-3-2-1 72 Mark Johnson
2012-13 Minnesota 28-0-0-0 84 Brad Frost
2013-14 Minnesota 26-1-1-0 79 Brad Frost
2014-15 Minnesota 22-2-4-2 72 Brad Frost
2015-16 Wisconsin 24-3-1-1 74 Mark Johnson
2016-17 Wisconsin 22-2-4-3 73 Mark Johnson
2017-18 Wisconsin 20-2-2-2 64 Mark Johnson
2018-19 Minnesota 19-4-1-0 58 Brad Frost
2019-20 Wisconsin 17-4-3-2 56 Mark Johnson
2020-21 Wisconsin 12-3-1 (2-1) 36 Mark Johnson
*26 games and WCHA regular season title later vacated due to ineligible player.
^ Beginning with the 2008-09 season, shootout wins = 1 additional point.
+ Beginning with the 2010-11 season, victories were worth 3 points.
Most WCHA Regular Season Championships, by Team
No Team (*- Co-Champions, #- Vacated)
10 Minnesota (2000-01, 2001-02, 2003-04, 2004-05, 2008-09, 2009-10*, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15, 2018-19)
9 Wisconsin (2005-06, 2006-07, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18, 2019-20, 2020-21)
4 Minnesota Duluth (1999-00, 2002-03, 2009-10*, 2007-08#)